ASGARDIA

THE SPACE NATION



REPORT

OF THE INAUGURAL SESSION OF THE PARLIAMENT OF ASGARDIA

24 JUNE 2018 (07 ASGARD 0002), VIENNA

Participants (appointed and elected)

1.	Head of Nation	Igor Ashurbeyli
2.	Administration	Mikhail Spokoyny
		Lena De Winne
		Alesya Fedorova
		Markus Gronbach
3.	MPs elect	As per Registration
4.	Mandate Commission	Markus Gronbach
		Sagy Kfir
		Lena De Winne
5.	Counting Commission	Saltanat Shalakhmetova
		Alex Fedoseev (representing WorldOne)
		Alex Sautin
6.	Editorial Commission	Clive Simpson
		David Kuan-Wei Chen
		Upasana Dasgupta
		Aram Kerkonian
7.	Support staff	Rebekah Berg
		Linda Leuss
		Alena Feklina
		Janis Hunt
		Kerry Hebden
		Scott Kelly
		Mark Williamson

Opening of Session

10.10 am

Appointment of Mandate Commission.

Appointment of Counting Commission.

Appointment of Editorial Commission.

Appointment of Secretariat Members.

Protocol of Mandate Commission.

The Chairman of the Mandate Commission presented the Report No.1 of the status of Asgardia Parliamentary elections (ANNEX 1).

It was proposed that the agenda (ANNEX 25) as presented to Parliament be approved.

Voting took place.

Report No.1 of the Chair of the Counting Commission on the results of the voting on the agenda (ANNEX 2).

The proposed Agenda was therefore approved.

Elections of the Speaker of the Session

10.26 am

It was proposed that Mr. Lembit Öpik act as the Speaker of the First meeting of Asgardia Parliament.

Voting took place.

Report No.2 of the Chair of the Counting Commission on the results of the Speaker Elections is presented (ANNEX 3).

Mr. Lembit Öpik was therefore elected as the Speaker of the First meeting of the Asgardia Parliament.

Head of Nation greeting to the Parliament

10.31 am

The Head of Nation addressed the Parliament.

Debate and voting on the Act on the First Parliament of Asgardia

10.40 am

The Law on the First Parliament of Asgardia was laid before Parliament (ANNEX 26).

Voting took place.

Report No.3 of the Chair of the Counting Commission on the results of the voting on the Law on the First Parliament of Asgardia is presented (ANNEX 4).

The Law on the First Parliament of Asgardia as laid before Parliament was therefore approved unamended.

Signing of Decree on appointment of Supreme Justice of the Court of Asgardia

10.44 am

The Head of Nation signed the Decree on the appointment of the Supreme Justice of the Court of Asgardia, Yun Zhao.

Adjournment debate

10.48 am

Parliament held an adjournment debate wherein Members made a series of speeches sharing their hopes and aspirations for the Space Nation of Asgardia.

■ Suspension of Morning Session

12.40 pm

The sitting was suspended.

Opening of Afternoon Session

2.10 pm

The sitting was resumed.

■ Debate and voting on The Act on Acts

2.15 pm

The Act on Acts was laid before Parliament.

Debate took place on the Act on Acts.

A series of amendments were debated. Voting took place on Chapter 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5.

Chapter 1, Chapter 2, Chapter 3 and Chapter 4 were approved as amended, as summarized in Report No. 4 of the Chair of the Counting Commission on the results of the voting on the amendments and chapters.

The Supreme Justice determined that it would be unconstitutional to amend or reject Chapter 5 of the Act on Acts, on the grounds that this would represent a significant constitutional change which would require a clearly established procedure to be approved.

Chapter 5 was therefore approved without amendment.

Voting took place on the amended Act on Acts.

Report No. 4 to No. 18 of the Chair of the Counting Commission on the voting on the Act on Acts is presented (ANNEX 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 and 19). Report No. 1 of the Chair of the Editorial Commission on integrating amendments to the Act on Acts is presented (ANNEX 29). The Act on Acts was approved as amended (ANNEX 27).

The Citizenship Law was laid before Parliament.

Amendments were debated for the Citizenship Law.

Following a request for guidance by the Speaker, the Supreme Justice determined that it was constitutional to debate amendments to Chapter 1, Section 10. An amendment was therefore debated on this section accordingly.

The votes for each amendment were recorded, as summarised in Report No.19 to No. 21 of the Chair of the Counting Commission on the results of the voting on the amendments (ANNEX 20,21 and 22).

Voting took place on the Citizenship Law as amended.

Report No. 21 of the Chair of the Counting Commission on the results of the voting on the Citizenship Law as amended is presented (ANNEX 22).

Report No. 2 of the Chair of the Editorial Commission on integrating amendments to the Citizenship law is presented (ANNEX 30).

Citizenship Law, as amended, was approved (ANNEX 28).

■ Elections of the Chairman of the Parliament

8.08 pm

The following Members of Parliament were nominated as candidates to serve as Chairman of Parliament:

Mr. Ben Dell.

Mr. Lembit Öpik.

Mr. Dennis Shoemaker.

Mr. Shoemaker stated that he did not accept the nomination. Therefore, two candidates remained in the election: Mr. Dell and Mr. Öpik.

Voting took place.

Report No. 22 of the Chair of the Counting Commission on the results of the Chairman of the Parliament Elections is presented (ANNEX 23).

Mr. Lembit Öpik was elected as the Chairman of the Asgardia Parliament.

■ Appointment of the Acting Prime Minister

8.18 pm

Mr. Lembit Öpik, the Chairman of Parliament elected earlier on, has introduced Mrs. Ana Diaz as the Acting Prime Minister (ANNEX 24).

Lemht Öpik

Closing remarks by Chair of Parliament

8.31pm

Parliament session was adjourned.

Chairman of Parliament

Lembit Öpik